A.P. Giannini Foundation

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee advises the Foundation Board of Directors on the quality and competitiveness of the fellowship candidates, their research projects and the overall postgraduate research fellowship program. Committee members help the Foundation to identify eligible candidates at their respective medical schools, review evaluate fellowship applications and select new fellows each year.

The current representatives from California’s accredited medical schools are:

Sarah F. Hamm-Alvarez, PhD
Professor of Ophthalmology
Associate Dean for Basic & Translational Research
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California

Mark S. Anderson, MD, PhD
Director, UCSF Medical Scientist Training Program
Robert B. Friend and Michelle M. Friend Endowed Chair in Diabetes Research, UCSF Diabetes Center

Ming Guo, M.D., Ph.D.
Laurie and Steven C. Gordon Chair in Neurosciences
Professor of Neurology
Professor of Molecular & Medical Pharmacology
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
Director, Aging Center at UCLA

Calvin J. Kuo, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine-Hematology
School of Medicine
Stanford University

Luis Fernando Santana, PhD, FAHA
Professor and Chair
Arline Miller Rolkin Endowed Chair in Physiology & Membrane Biology 
School of Medicine
University of California, Davis

Victor Nizet, MD
Professor & Vice Chair for Basic Research, Department of Pediatrics
Chief, Division of Host-Microbe Systems & Therapeutics
Professor, Skaggs School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
School of Medicine, University of California, San Diego

Leslie Thompson, PhD
Chancellor’s Professor, Psychiatry and Human Behavior
School of Medicine
University of California at Irvine